Walking in Sonoma County…mostly

walking for those with bad knees, bad habits or bad attitudes

Photo Challenge: Mine

In the movie How to Marry a Millionaire, the character Loco (Betty Grable) falls in love with Eben (Rory Calhoun) because he tells her all the surrounding area is “his” land. Actually, he’s a forest ranger.

That’s the way I feel about the places I visit. They are mine. It’s especially how I feel at the ocean.

View North above Wrights Beach

View North above Wrights Beach Near Jenner

View from Mt. Tam to San Francisco

View from Mt. Tamalpais – that’s San Francisco in the distance

View from Red Hill of Russian River at Jenner

View from Red Hill of Russian River at Jenner

I am a very rich person because I can go to these places – and that many people work to make them available to all of us.

Words by Lynn Millar

Photos by Mike Millar

8 comments on “Photo Challenge: Mine

  1. marlene alves
    October 4, 2012

    And I, Lynn (& Mike), rarely if ever travel to these places, but I find a similar sense of “ownership” enjoying your posts & photos…thank you!

  2. Arletta Dawdy's Blog
    October 4, 2012

    You enrich us all.

    • badwalker
      October 5, 2012

      Thank you. I appreciate you making the effort to let us know how we’re doing.

  3. montucky
    October 4, 2012

    Beautiful scenery! That first photo especially is gorgeous! I feel a sense of ownership for some of these places too. Now if we could get everyone to feel that way!!!

    • badwalker
      October 5, 2012

      I love that place too. It’s easy to get to – and the wildflowers are the very best in May.

  4. Thonie Hevron
    October 10, 2012

    All three of the photos are of wonderful places so familiar to me. I grew up in the shadow of Mt. Tam in Mill Valley. I’ve recently had the pleasure of sharing the walk around the top with several friends. And Jenner: my husband and I have been doing lots of kayak paddling there this summer. We moved away for 10 years and couldn’t wait to get back to enjoy all these places!! Thanks for articulating what so many feel.

    • badwalker
      October 10, 2012

      Thonie – thanks for sharing. The Bay Area is an easy place to feel the power of nature’s beauty.

What would you add or ask?

Information

This entry was posted on October 4, 2012 by in Coast and tagged , , .

Lynn Millar

I am a writer of short stories, poems, plays and two someday-they’ll-be novels.

Join my walks on Saturday mornings -October 11, 10am, Sonoma Valley Regional. Check out Groups and Other Walks page for more.

The pictures are by my husband and walking companion.

Meanwhile back to walking…Click below to subscribe, or on your favorite area to walk.

Enter your email address & respond with Yes! to email from WordPress for your free weekly walk.

Join 1,153 other followers

Checklist

List of Things to Bring
lonelyblogs.com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,153 other followers

